Logging as a service

Posted Friday, July 15, 2011

One of my many summer projects is an API that allows colleges and universities to create virtual tours of their campuses. In developing the API, I wanted an easy way to log errors and usage in a decoupled fashion. I didn’t want to have to worry about the details of where the logs would reside or how to rotate them. I found myself in search of LAAS - logging as a service. My search soon ended with Loggly, an API-based logging service that allows, among other things, for web apps to log arbitrary information over HTTP. Since I’m currently writing the backend in Node.js, this seemed a convenient way to integrate some powerful logging without having to worry about the details of the infrastructure. Their free plan was more than generous for my needs, and allowed me to get up and running quickly.

Read the rest of the article


Sending e-mail via a REST API
Wednesday, May 11, 2011
Scalable web services and the EPS theorem
Friday, March 18, 2011
Upgrading to Django 1.2.1
Thursday, July 08, 2010
Limiting choices for a ManyToManyField on Django ModelForm objects
Wednesday, June 16, 2010
Collatz Conjecture
Thursday, May 13, 2010
Deploying Squid as a reverse proxy
Monday, May 10, 2010
Group permissions in Django, sort of
Monday, January 25, 2010
Keeping an eye on disk space
Thursday, September 24, 2009
Copy one Ubuntu setup to another computer
Tuesday, September 15, 2009
In Source or Outsource?
Friday, April 03, 2009